Two non-executive directors appointed to ICA board


News release

Wednesday, 17 May 2023

The Insurance Council of Australia (ICA) has appointed two new non-executive members to the Board at the organisation’s 43rd Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 16 May.

Chief Executive Officer of Zurich for Australia and New Zealand, Justin Delaney, and Group Managing Director and CEO of Auto & General for Asia Pacific, Ram Kangatharan, have been appointed for 12-month terms as of Tuesday 16 May.

Mr Delaney has served as Chief Executive Officer of Zurich since July 2021. He has more than 25-years’ experience in financial services, holding various senior executive positions.

Mr Kangatharan joined Auto & General in 2012 following five years at Bank of Queensland where he was Chief Financial Officer and then Chief Operating Officer.

Outgoing Youi CEO Hugo Schreuder stepped down from the ICA Board at Tuesday’s meeting.

The appointments reflect the ICA’s commitment from the leaders of Australia’s general insurance sector to ensuring the industry is well-placed to drive the many strategic challenges and opportunities facing the sector.

Comment attributable ICA President Nick Hawkins:

On behalf of the Board, I am pleased both Justin and Ram have been able to join the Board of the Insurance Council and I welcome their expert contribution.

The new appointments bring extensive experience in both general insurance and financial services to the Board at what is a pivotal time for the general insurance industry.

Full Board listed below:

  • Insurance Council of Australia Executive Director and CEO, Andrew Hall
  • Insurance Australia Group Ltd CEO and Managing Director, Nick Hawkins (President)
  • Hollard Holdings Australia Managing Director, Richard Enthoven (Deputy President)
  • QBE Insurance Group Chief Executive Officer for Australia Pacific, Sue Houghton
  • Allianz Australia Managing Director, Richard Feledy
  • Avant Mutual Group CEO and Managing Director, Natasha Fenech
  • Munich Holdings of Australasia Pty Ltd Managing Director, Scott Hawkins
  • Suncorp Group Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Steve Johnson
  • Chubb Insurance Australia Ltd Country President, Peter Kelaher
  • Lloyds Australia Limited General Representative in Australia, Chris MacKinnon
  • RACT Chief Insurance Officer, Paul Sofronoff
  • Zurich Chief Executive Officer for Australia and New Zealand, Justin Delaney
  • Auto & General Group Managing Director and CEO, Ram Kangatharan
Send this to a friend