2 November 2017

ICA Board appoints new President

The Board of the Insurance Council of Australia (ICA) today appointed Mr Richard Enthoven as President of the Insurance Council and Chairman of the Board.

The two-year appointment of Mr Enthoven, Chief Executive Officer, The Hollard Insurance Company, was made during a Board meeting held in Sydney. He was previously Deputy President, and served as Acting President last month following the departure of Mr Anthony Day from Suncorp.

Mr Gary Dransfield, Chief Executive Officer Insurance, Suncorp, has joined the Board and has been appointed Deputy President of the Insurance Council.

ICA CEO Rob Whelan said Mr Enthoven’s stewardship of the ICA came at a pivotal time for the general insurance industry.

“Richard is a personable and highly respected business leader. His perspective on how the insurance industry should respond to the challenges posed by the rapidly changing social, economic and political landscape will be invaluable,” Mr Whelan said.

“On behalf of the Board and the industry I thank Anthony Day for his contribution to the ICA Board during a testing year.”

Mr Enthoven said: “I am honoured to accept the role of ICA President and Chairman during a very exciting time of both opportunity and challenge within our industry.

“The ICA has a proud tradition of ethically and expertly promoting its members’ roles in providing insurance protection and security to the community. I’m passionate in seeing this role continue in consultation with key stakeholders.”

The current Board Members are:


Mr Richard Enthoven, Chief Executive Officer, The Hollard Insurance Company Pty Ltd
(appointed a Director on May 3, 2013)

Deputy President

Mr Gary Dransfield, Chief Executive Officer Insurance, Suncorp (appointed November 2, 2017)

Executive Director and CEO

Mr Rob Whelan, Chief Executive Officer, Insurance Council of Australia
(Chief Executive Officer since March 22, 2010)


Mr Noel Condon, Chief Executive Officer, AIG Australia Limited (appointed May 5, 2011)

Mr Chris Mackinnon, Lloyd’s General Representative in Australia, Lloyd’s Australia Ltd
(appointed May 4, 2017)

Mr Mark Milliner, Chief Executive Officer Australia, IAG (Director from November 23, 2009 to November 5, 2015, reappointed May 5, 2016. Prior ICA President)

Mr Rajbir Nanra, Chief Executive Officer, General Insurance, Australia and New Zealand, Zurich Financial Services Australia Ltd (appointed May 4, 2017)

Mr Niran Peiris, Managing Director, Allianz Australia Insurance Limited
(appointed February 8, 2013)

Mr Patrick Regan, Group Chief Financial Officer and Chief Executive Officer, Australian
& New Zealand Operations, QBE Insurance Australia Ltd (appointed March 16, 2017)

Mr David Russell, Chief Executive, RAA Insurance Limited (appointed May 8, 2015)

Mr Mark Senkevics, Managing Director and Head of Australia & New Zealand,
Swiss Reinsurance Company Limited (appointed May 3, 2012)

Ms Helen Troup, Managing Director, Commonwealth Insurance Limited
(appointed May 8, 2015)

ICA Board of Director profiles are available here


Media Contacts

Contact the on-call media adviser
0432 121 116
Download ICA Contact Card