5 May 2017

Lloyd’s and Zurich representatives join Insurance Council Board

  The Insurance Council of Australia (ICA) is pleased to announce the following appointments to its Board of Directors:

  • Mr Chris Mackinnon, Lloyd’s Australia Ltd’s General Representative in Australia
  • Mr Rajbir (Raj) Nanra, Chief Executive Officer, General Insurance, Zurich Financial Services Australia Ltd

They were each appointed for 12-month terms at yesterday’s Annual General Meeting in Sydney, alongside nine re-elected Non-Executive Directors.

The appointments bring the total number of Non-Executive Directors to 11 for the first time since the retirement of Munich Re’s Heinrich Eder last year.

ICA CEO and Board Executive Director Rob Whelan said: “I am pleased to welcome representatives from Zurich and Lloyd’s to the ICA Board for the first time in two years. The Board’s collective knowledge and performance will be strengthened by their insights.

“Chris and Raj bring extensive experience of insurance throughout the Asia-Pacific region, and I look forward to their contribution throughout the coming year.

“The industry has rarely faced greater scrutiny from governments and regulators. But under the continued leadership of ICA President Anthony Day, I am confident the Board will guide the industry to ever greater levels of stability, growth and customer satisfaction.”

The current Board Members are:


Mr Anthony Day, Chief Executive Officer, Insurance, Suncorp Group Ltd
(appointed February 4, 2016)

Deputy President

Mr Richard Enthoven, Chief Executive Officer, The Hollard Insurance Company Pty Ltd
(appointed May 3, 2013)

Executive Director and CEO

Mr Rob Whelan, Chief Executive Officer, Insurance Council of Australia
(Chief Executive Officer since March 22, 2010)


Mr Noel Condon, Chief Executive Officer, AIG Australia Limited (appointed May 5, 2011)

Mr Chris Mackinnon, Lloyd’s General Representative in Australia, Lloyd’s Australia Ltd
(appointed May 4, 2017)

Mr Mark Milliner, Chief Operating Officer, Insurance Australia Group Ltd
(Director from November 23, 2009 to November 5, 2015, reappointed May 5, 2016. Prior
ICA President)

Mr Rajbir Nanra. Chief Executive Officer, General Insurance, Australia and New Zealand, Zurich Financial Services Australia Ltd (appointed May 4, 2017)

Mr Niran Peiris, Managing Director, Allianz Australia Insurance Limited
(appointed February 8, 2013)

Mr Patrick Regan, Group Chief Financial Officer and Chief Executive Officer, Australian & New Zealand Operations, QBE Insurance Australia Ltd (appointed March 16, 2017)

Mr David Russell, Chief Executive, RAA Insurance Limited (appointed May 8, 2015)

Mr Mark Senkevics, Managing Director and Head of Australia & New Zealand, Swiss Reinsurance Company Limited (appointed May 3, 2012)

Ms Helen Troup, Managing Director, Commonwealth Insurance Limited
(appointed May 8, 2015)

ICA Board of Director profiles are available here


Media Contacts

Contact the on-call media adviser
0432 121 116
Download ICA Contact Card