5 February 2016

Suncorp’s Anthony Day appointed to the Insurance Council of Australia Board of Directors

The Insurance Council of Australia (ICA) is pleased to announce that Anthony Day has been appointed to the Board of Directors with immediate effect.

Mr Day, who is the CEO of Commercial Insurance for Suncorp, was appointed at yesterday’s ICA Board meeting in Sydney.

ICA President Andy Cornish warmly welcomed Mr Day’s appointment.

“Mr Day brings three decades of experience in the general insurance industry to the ICA. His fellow Directors look forward to benefitting from his insights and expertise as we seek to chart a path ahead for the sector,” said Mr Cornish.

“With insurers facing growing challenges from such issues as extreme weather events, disclosure and affordability, Mr Day will bring valuable perspectives to Board discussions and deliberations.”

Mr Day’s appointment brings the number of ICA Board members to 10. The current Board members are:


Mr Andy Cornish, Chief Operating Officer, Insurance Australia Group Limited

Deputy President

Mr Colin Fagen, Group Chief Strategy Officer, QBE Insurance (Australia) Limited

Executive Director and CEO

Mr Rob Whelan, Insurance Council of Australia


Mr Noel Condon, Chief Executive Officer, AIG Australia Limited

Mr Heinrich Eder, Managing Director, Munich Holdings of Australasia Pty Limited

Mr Richard Enthoven, Chief Executive Officer, The Hollard Insurance Company Pty Limited

Mr Niran Peiris, Managing Director, Allianz Australia Insurance Limited

Mr David Russell, Chief Executive, RAA Insurance Limited

Mr Mark Senkevics, Managing Director and Head of Australia & New Zealand, Swiss Reinsurance Company Limited

Ms Helen Troup, Managing Director, Commonwealth Insurance Limited ICA Board of Director profiles can be found here.


Media Contacts

Contact the on-call media adviser
0432 121 116
Download ICA Contact Card